Restaurant / Bar

Important aspects to take into consideration

The location

The location of a bar or restaurant is crucial. The front must be visible and attract the eye of people. When conducting market research, it is essential to check whether there is enough activity and whether other shops are present around the restaurant.

 

The concept

The restoration sector is very competitive. It is therefore necessary to differentiate yourself by finding an original and attractive concept or idea. You will need to work thoughtfully on your project and also think about the arrangement of the restaurant / bar (fashionable, vintage, classic, modern…), the food (fast food, biologic, fair trade, vegetarian, vegan…) and the atmosphere you want to recreate (traditional coffee, trendy bar, teahouse).

 

Food Hygiene

Companies producing, processing or distributing food must follow food hygiene rules and obligations. They must contact and declare their activities to the Food Safety Division (Division de la Sécurité alimentaire). You can find the form to declare your business here.

 

Staff, working and opening hours

Depending on the opening hours of the restaurant (morning and/or evening), it is necessary to measure the impact that this will have on the required staff and therefore on an increase in salary costs. Indeed, even if opening morning and evening may seem attractive, it also implies a double workload for you and your employees.

 

The administrative formalities

The restoration and hotel business is a regulated sector. Make sure to be aware of all the procedures you need to follow and the conditions you have to respect before starting your project.

A sheet detailing the creation conditions is available on the House of Entrepreneurship website: (http://www.cc.lu/uploads/tx_userccpublications/Horeca-EN-web.pdf).

 

Let’s start on the right track

  • Check the website of Horesca.lu in which you will find information on how to open a bar, coffee or restaurant.
  • Find an original and catchy name for your restaurant/bar which fits the atmosphere and concept. Make it easy to memorize !
  • Be careful to respect key ratios. Generally, good restaurant management implies that:

    • 20% - 30% of turnover is devoted to the purchase of raw materials
    • 30% - 40% of turnover is devoted to staff expenses.

Founders

With the support of

Restaurants / Bar

Les points importants

L'emplacement

L'emplacement d'un bar ou d'un restaurant est primordial. La devanture doit être visible et attirer le regard des passants. Lors de l'étude de marché, il est indispensable de vérifier s'il y a suffisamment de passage et si d'autres commerces sont présents autour du restaurant.

 

Le concept

Le secteur de la restauration est très concurrentiel. Il est donc nécessaire de réussir à se différencier de la concurrence en trouvant un concept original. Cette réflexion débouche sur un projet d'aménagement du restaurant/bar (design, vintage, moderne, …), de la nourriture proposée (restauration rapide, biologique, équitable, végétarienne, gastronomique, exotique, …) et de l'ambiance souhaitée (café traditionnel, bar à ambiance, salon de thé, …).

 

Hygiène Alimentaire

Les entreprises produisant, transformant ou distribuant des denrées alimentaires, doivent suivre des règles et des obligations en matière d'hygiène alimentaire. Les établissements concernés doivent se faire connaître des autorités compétentes et déclarer leurs activités. Cette déclaration se fait auprès de la Division de la Sécurité Alimentaire. Vous pouvez trouvez le formulaire en cliquant ici.

 

Personnel, heures de travail et d'ouverture, …

En fonction des heures d'ouvertures du restaurant (matin et/ou soir), il faut arriver à bien mesurer l'impact que cela aura sur le personnel réquisitionné et donc sur une augmentation des charges salariales. En effet, même si ouvrir matin et soir peut sembler attractif, cela implique également une charge de travail double pour vous et vos salariés.

 

Les formalités administratives

Le secteur de l'Horesca (Hôtellerie, restaurant, café) est un secteur réglementé. Il faut donc bien s'informer sur les différentes démarches à réaliser, et les conditions à remplir avant de se lancer.

Une fiche détaillant les conditions de création est disponible sur le site de la House of Entrepreneurship : (http://www.cc.lu/uploads/tx_userccpublications/Horeca-FR-web.pdf).

 

Pour bien commencer

  • Consulter le site www.horesca.lu qui regroupe beaucoup d'informations sur la création d'un bar ou d'un restaurant. 
  • Trouvez un nom original, en adéquation avec le concept de votre établissement et qui sera facilement mémorisable !
  • Attention à respecter certains ratios. Généralement, une bonne gestion d'un restaurant implique que:

    • 20% - 30% du chiffre d'affaires est consacré à l'achat des matières premières
    • 30% - 40% est consacré aux dépenses du personnel.

Sponsors & Partenaires